Reilly's Raves
March 01, 2018

Scholastic Art Award winners honored

The following Scholastic Art Award winners were honored at a ceremony on Feb. 21:

Rose Harris – Howard Uphoff Scholarship

Minkyong Song – League of Reston Artist Scholarship

Joshua Leong – American Visions Nominee

Model UN wins top awards at North American Invitational Model UN Conference

McLean’s Model UN team won the Best Large School award at Georgetown’s North American Invitational Model UN Conference (NAIMUN). The conference, which is considered to be the “national championship” of Model UN by many, had over 3,300 delegates and 160 schools, but McLean’s team was able to beat schools from both the United States and internationally.

Seventeen McLean students were recognized for awards at the conference. Please congratulate them when you see them.

Gavel/Best Delegate:

Noor Al-Saloum

Asia Kurtalic

Maria McHugo

Siddarth Shankar

Jeremy Siegel

Outstanding Delegate:

Lana Al-Saloum & Sarah Gu

Ian Ghasemian & Laith Samamreh

Neha Rana

Honorable Mention:

Samir Chowdhury & Kyla Duggal

Sophie Howery

Riya Master

Jillian Pincus & Nour Khachemoune

Verbal Commendation:

Kenan Nabulsi

Twelve students declared National Merit Scholarship Finalists

McLean’s National Merit Scholarship Finalists are Hannah Alexander, Royce Kang, Bradley Kim, Justin Kim, Alan Kohler III, Keerthi Medicherla, Careniena Opem, Jillian Pincus, Siddarth Shankar, Philena Sun, Eli Wassertzug, and Richard Yu. Congratulations to all of you!

Students volunteer for STEAM@Stanton

Fourteen McLean students spent the last teacher workday volunteering at a STEAM event at Stanton Elementary School in DC. Ten varsity dance team members (Kaiti Bachman, Willa Britton, Mason Glembocki, Megan Hassi, Leila Ilkanhoff, Kate MacPherson, Mary Scalia, Isabella Swigart, Gabie Xie, and Rachel Zhang) were joined by fellow Highlanders Erin Barth, Ella Dutt, Finn Marks, and Caroline Raymond at STEAM@Stanton, an event that combined movement and dance with hands-on science activities.